从欧洲派遣:试图定义“一次性塑料”

在过去的几年中,塑料已迅速成为废物污染危机的公众面孔。 每年散落或泄漏到环境,海洋中的塑料数量惊人(每年5至13万吨)。 仅在欧洲,每年就产生25.8万公吨的塑料废物,其中仅30%被回收利用。

尽管实际上尚不清楚由环境中无处不在的塑料废料引起的问题的全部范围,但是很明显,这些废料的不断增长具有对海洋和人类生命造成危害的巨大潜力。 随着“一次性”塑料消费量的增加,这种现象变得更加严重。“一次性”塑料被设计为只能在丢弃或丢弃为垃圾时使用一次。

欧洲一次性塑料指令

为了阻止塑料污染流到海洋,欧盟委员会于2年2019月10日通过了《一次性塑料指令》(SUPD)。该政策解决了在欧洲海滩上发现的XNUMX种最常见的乱抛垃圾物品(以及渔具),并为这些物品设定了各种监管措施。

这些措施随产品类别的不同而不同,有些项目受到彻底禁止,而另一些则通过扩大生产者责任(EPR)框架,减少消耗的目标,标签和设计要求以及单独的收集目标等措施进行监管。 这些政策工具的目的是通过改变制造商的经济状况来解决塑料污染的根本原因,以使它们生产出更具可持续性的包装,并提高回收塑料的质量和数量。

塑料是什么意思?

该指令针对塑料产品的关注在科学和政治上都是可以理解的。

但是,该指令中包含的塑料的当前定义存在潜在的问题,因为在范围内但不是“官方”塑料的一次性产品将不受其法规的限制。 例如,SUPD将“未经化学改性的天然聚合物”从塑料的定义中排除。 Eunomia Research and Consulting进行的一项最新研究检查了湿巾的情况,因为它们提供了一个很好的例子并分析了替代材料(非塑料)以及它们如何衡量环境影响。 就湿巾而言,关于豁免的争论集中在两种类型的人造纤维素纤维上:莱赛尔纤维和粘胶纤维,两者都是合成聚合物的有效替代品。

根据指令的意图,对某些材料制成的产品进行豁免可能是适当的,尤其是那些已证明对环境的影响远小于由“塑料”制成的产品的产品。 但是,由未改性的天然聚合物制得的产品在环境中无法表现出明显不同的表现,也将不属于该法规的范围。

这种与塑料的定义和指令的解释有关的漏洞可能会严重破坏法规的有效性,甚至在环境方面会适得其反。

除了可以免除对环境影响与其范围类似的材料的风险外,SUPD对塑料的定义还可以激励制造商承担EPR义务以寻求替代材料,从而使他们不必为废物收集成本提供资金,处理和垃圾清理。 最终,这将减少给市政当局的资金,即使技术上未将一次性物品定义为“塑料”,城市仍将继续承担管理一次性物品的责任。

有关策略设计的较大讨论的一部分

这个漏洞和定义存在问题的故事位于设计良好的EPR系统的更大范围内,EPR系统是SUPD实施的核心,对于确保塑料及其价值在经济中和环境之外仍然至关重要。

特别重要的是费用的生态调节,制造商因其在设计产品以减轻对环境影响方面的努力而获得奖励。 同样,制造商将因非一次性设计的一次性产品或包装而受到经济处罚。

费用调整除了有助于减少塑料外,还可以支持向可重复使用的包装的转变以及逐步淘汰塑料中的有害物质。 欧盟委员会目前正在制定有关EPR计划的生态调节费的准则(《废物框架指令》第8条第5款),以帮助成员国转变欧盟法律。

历史机遇

欧盟委员会的目标是提供加速向循环经济过渡的政策。 就一次性产品而言,始终首先要避免浪费是首要目标,应采取措施刺激行为,避免消费并鼓励 reuse.

SUPD是欧盟展示其在应对当今时代最大挑战之一方面的全球领导地位的历史性机遇。 根据SUPD的主要目标,围绕定义进行讨论非常重要:从单一用途转变为具有有效系统的循环经济。

如果允许乱扔垃圾或对物品的不当处置继续进行,或者生产者能够通过围绕一组定义进行“创新”来逃避其责任,那将是可悲的。


 

请注意: 这篇文章最初是发表并精选于 资源回收的网站。 要查看原始文章,请单击此处.

Over the last few years, plastics have very quickly become the public face of the waste pollution crisis. The quantities of plastics that are littered or leaked into the environment, seas and oceans each year is staggering (5 to 13 million metric tons per year). Europe alone produces 25.8 million metric tons of plastic waste annually, only 30% of which is collected for recycling.

Although the full extent of the problems being caused by the ubiquity of plastic waste in the environment is not really known, it is clear that their growing presence has a significant potential to cause harm to both marine and human life. The phenomenon is made worse by the growing consumption of “single-use” plastics – those designed to be used only once before they’re discarded or disposed of as litter.

Europe’s Single-Use Plastics Directive

In an attempt to stem the stream of plastic pollution reaching our oceans, the European Commission adopted the Single-Use Plastics Directive (SUPD) on July 2, 2019. The policy tackles the 10 most commonly littered items found on European beaches (as well as fishing gear), and it sets various regulatory measures for these items.

The measures vary by product category, with some items subject to outright bans and others regulated through measures such as extended producer responsibility (EPR) frameworks, consumption-reduction targets, labeling and design requirements, and separate collection targets. The aim of these policy instruments is to address the root causes of plastic pollution by transforming the economics for manufacturers, so that they produce more sustainable packaging and increase the quality and quantity of plastics collected for recycling.

What do we mean by plastic?

The directive’s focus on plastic products is understandable, both scientifically and politically.

However, the current definition of plastic contained in the directive is potentially problematic, because single-use products of types that are in scope, but that are not “officially” plastic, will be exempted from its regulations. For example, the SUPD excludes “natural polymers that have not been chemically modified” from the definition of plastic. A recent study carried out by Eunomia Research and Consulting examined the case of wet wipes, as they offer a good example and analysis of alternative materials – non-plastics – and how they measure up in terms of environmental impact. In the case of wet wipes, the debate around exemptions has focused on two types of man-made cellulosic fibres: lyocell and viscose, both of which are effective substitutes for synthetic polymers.

In line with the intent of the directive, exemptions for products made from some materials may be appropriate, especially those items that have been shown to have substantially less impact on the environment than equivalents made from “plastic.” However, products made from unmodified natural polymers that cannot be shown to perform substantially differently in the environment would also not be covered by the regulation.

Such loopholes, linked to the definition of plastic and the interpretation of the directive, could severely undermine the effectiveness of the legislation and could even backfire in environmental terms.

In addition to the risk of exempting materials with similar environmental impacts as those covered from its scope, the SUPD’s definition of plastic could incentivize manufacturers subject to EPR obligations to seek out material replacements that would exempt them from having to finance the cost of waste collection, treatment and litter cleanup. This would ultimately result in less money to municipalities, and cities will still be stuck with the responsibility of managing the single-use item even though it is technically not defined as “plastic.”

Part of larger conversation about policy design

This story of loopholes and problematic definitions sits within a much bigger context of well-designed EPR systems, which are at the core of the implementation of the SUPD and are vital to ensuring that plastics and their value remain in the economy and out of the environment.

Of particular importance is the eco-modulation of fees, where manufacturers are rewarded for their efforts in designing their products to mitigate impact on the environment. Similarly, manufacturers will be penalized financially for single-use products or packaging that  is not designed for recycling.

Besides contributing to a reduction in plastic, fee modulation can support a shift to reusable packaging and a phasing out of hazardous substances in plastic. The European Commission is currently developing guidelines on the eco-modulation fees for EPR schemes (Article 8(5) of the Waste Framework Directive) in order to assist member states in the transposition of EU legislation.

A historic opportunity

The goal of the European Commission is to deliver policy that accelerates the transition to a circular economy. In the case of single-use products, avoiding waste in the first place should always be the primary goal, and measures should be put in place to spur behavior that avoids consumption and encourages reuse.

The SUPD is a historic opportunity for the EU to show its global leadership in addressing one of the biggest challenges of our time. It is essential that the discussion around definitions be contextualized in accordance with the SUPD’s main objective: to move away from single-use and toward a circular economy with efficient systems.

It would be tragic if littering or inappropriate disposal of items were allowed to continue, or if producers were able to evade their responsibility for such, by “innovating” around a set of definitions.


 

Note: This article was originally published and featured on Resource Recycling‘s website. To view the original article, click here.