想知道是谁 Reloop 是,我们一直在做什么,我们的一些计划正在推进中? 以下文章,分享自 废物360.com, 提供了一个很好的总结。

--------

15 June 2021 – 确定循环经济应该是什么样子,并围绕它推进政策,最好通过将环保组织、政府和行业联合起来来完成——或者这就是国际非营利组织的信念 Reloop 自 2015 年在布鲁塞尔启动以来,其工作一直围绕着这一前提。该平台的多元化成员提供了技术专长,以帮助为欧洲政策提供信息,该平台最近扩展到北美,尤其是美国,并计划进入亚洲在一两年内。

Reloop的工作围绕建立全球循环经济的包装方法,并重点关注五个方面:

  • 押金返还, reuse、回收内容、收集和分类。

“我们在与制定法律的人、品牌所有者、废物部门、非政府组织、市政府和协会的讨论中重点关注这些领域中的每一个。 我们有多种合作伙伴,其中包括 [实体和个人],例如德国的大型环保组织 Deutsche Umwelthilfe (DUH); TOMRA,谁开发 基于传感器的分拣系统; 和西班牙人的创始董事会成员,曾在 [欧盟] 的欧洲环境署政府部门工作,” 20 岁的 Clarissa Morawski 说。 加拿大政府和首席执行官的资深废物政策顾问 Reloop 平台。

确定循环经济应该是什么样子,并围绕它推进政策,最好将环保组织、政府和行业联合起来——或者这就是国际非营利组织的信念 Reloop 自 2015 年在布鲁塞尔启动以来,其工作一直围绕着这一前提。该平台的多元化成员提供了技术专长,以帮助为欧洲政策提供信息,该平台最近扩展到北美,尤其是美国,并计划进入亚洲在一两年内。

Reloop的工作围绕建立全球循环经济的包装方法,并重点关注五个方面:押金返还、 reuse、回收内容、收集和分类。

“我们在与制定法律的人、品牌所有者、废物部门、非政府组织、市政府和协会的讨论中重点关注这些领域中的每一个。 我们有多种合作伙伴,其中包括 [实体和个人],例如德国的大型环保组织 Deutsche Umwelthilfe (DUH); TOMRA,谁开发 基于传感器的分拣系统; 和西班牙人的创始董事会成员,曾在 [欧盟] 的欧洲环境署政府部门工作,” 20 岁的 Clarissa Morawski 说。 加拿大政府资深废物政策顾问兼首席执行官 Reloop 平台。

“我们让他们参与这些对话,并提供基于证据的数据和案例研究,以帮助他们理解为什么我们应该朝着特定方向前进,”她说。

Reloop就在欧盟新一届政府接手并放弃了前一届政府旨在促进可持续经济发展的循环经济一揽子计划的部分内容之后,它的第一个大型项目就开始了。

“欧洲的品牌引起了轩然大波,以至于重新推出和升级了该包装。 品牌感到不安,因为他们知道我们需要公平竞争的立法来帮助他们过渡到循环经济。

随着政府开始考虑修改有关包装回收的法律,我们说我们有机会介入并提出改进建议,”莫拉夫斯基反映道。

她和她的团队还为欧洲的新回收计算提供了建议。 他们通过求助于回收商和材料供应商,组织他们做出贡献来告知流程。 这是一项需要一些时间的政治任务。

“试图让材料供应商就对某些材料的影响大于其他材料的计算方法达成一致是具有挑战性的。 当特定方法显示较低的回收率时,并不是每个人都想报告坏消息,”她说。

沃尔夫冈·林格尔 (Wolfgang Ringel),政府事务高级副总裁,Tomra Group 的创始成员 Reloop,说 Tomra 自己的目标是将 40% 的消费后塑料包装收集起来进行回收,并在闭环中回收 30% 的这种包装。

“所以 Reloop的愿景和使命与我们的完全一致,”Ringel 说,并将该平台的五个重点领域称为全球循环经济的“甜蜜点”。

“为什么?

  • Reuse 需要防止不必要的材料生产并抵制我们的一次性社会。
  • 强制性押金返还系统对于海洋和陆地垃圾来说是一个唾手可得的成果,在引入后几乎可以消除所有与饮料容器相关的垃圾的三分之一。
  • 强制性回收内容目标提供了一个公平的竞争环境,因为每个人都被迫在一定程度上购买回收内容,并通过这样做刺激循环。
  • 收集和分类是废物管理价值链中创造适销对路、清洁的二次原材料流的瓶颈。 我们需要创造框架条件来促进各自的投资。”

Reloop 为欧盟一次性塑料指令提供咨询,该指令引入了措施并设定了积极的目标,以减少或禁止一次性塑料产品。

“一次性塑料指令是开创性的,因为多个国家的超过 XNUMX 亿人将不得不遵守它。 它将产生全球影响,我们相信会开创先例,”Morawski 说。

在它关于这项立法的工作中, Reloop 推动塑料饮料容器的收集目标——到 90 年达到 2029%。

“我们向欧盟委员会展示了,在拥有存款系统的 27 个国家中,有 90 个国家的回报率达到了 XNUMX%。 我们说如果九个国家能做到,为什么剩下的国家不能?” 她说。

现在,这家全球性非营利组织已开始在美国开展工作,由伊丽莎白巴尔干 (Elizabeth Balkan) 掌舵,伊丽莎白巴尔干 (Elizabeth Balkan) 曾任自然资源保护委员会食物浪费计划的负责人。

重点将放在关闭 PET 饮料容器的循环上。 在这份工作中,美国在 40 个国家中处于图表底部 Reloop 在其最近的报告中评估: 我们浪费了什么.

“与此同时,PET 是最可回收的物品之一。 这一缺陷提供了一个机会,让我们看到这些瓶子被送往急需材料的回收设施,”莫拉夫斯基说。

这个新建立的北美领土的计划是与参与或有兴趣推进环境生产者责任、回收内容和押金返还系统账单的立法者和利益相关者进行交谈。 其中一项努力是 Reloop与 Eunomia 合作的 Reimagined Bottle Bill (RBB), Reloop 将在瓶子账单表现不佳的地方进行分析并确定改进建议。 莫拉夫斯基 说 除俄勒冈州和密歇根州外,美国的所有瓶子账单都表现不佳,并且继续逐年下降。

“这些法案表现不佳的原因通常是没有具有约束力的收集和回收目标,而且退款率很低,这意味着没有动力提高绩效。 然后在加利福尼亚等一些地方,退货中心很少,这对消费者来说并不方便,”她说。

“我们的 RBB 计划旨在借鉴世界各地的经验,并为瓶装法案的操作原则制定一套标准,这对于需要创建支持性监管框架的监管机构来说至关重要,以便生产商能够实施满足 90% 要求的有效计划。以最低成本为目标。”

位于新英格兰的保护法基金会 (CLF) Reloop 伙伴。 在其工作中,这个非营利性倡导组织有一个零废物项目,以改善废物转移和回收。

“CLF 利用 Reloop游说各级政府决策者的技术专长,以及 Reloop 取决于 CLF 对新英格兰更广泛的零废物和废物处理问题的理解。 我们正在共同增加对零废物解决方案的兴趣和理解。 Reloop 扩展到美国一直是这一倡导领域的一个受欢迎的补充,“保护法基金会零废物项目主任 Kirstie Pecci 说。

两个合作伙伴的大部分合作都是围绕存款返还系统,CLF 转向 Reloop 用于基于现实生活实施的指导。

“CLF 说某些事情会奏效是一回事; 这是另一回事 Reloop 解释他们已经看到它的工作。 这在教育立法者和机构官员时非常有用,”佩奇说。

In the media: How Reloop impacts European waste policy and its plans for the U.S.

Wondering who Reloop is, what we’ve been up to, and what some of our plans are moving forward? The article below, shared from Waste360.com, offers a great summary.

———————-

15 June 2021 – Determining what a circular economy should look like, and advancing policy around it, is best done by bringing together environmental groups, government, and industry—or so that is the belief of international nonprofit Reloop whose work has centred around that premise since it launched in Brussels in 2015. The platform’s diverse membership has provided technical expertise to help inform European policy, and the platform recently expanded into North America, especially focused on the U.S., with plans to move into Asia in a year or two.

Reloop’s work centres around establishing a global circular economy approach toward packaging, and keys in on five areas:

  • deposit return, reuse, recycled content, collecting, and sorting.

“We focus on each of these areas in discussions with those who write the laws, with brand owners, the waste sector, NGOs, municipal governments, and associations. We have a mix of partners to include [entities and individuals] such as Deutsche Umwelthilfe (DUH), which is a huge environmental organization in Germany; TOMRA, who develops sensor-based sorting systems; and a Spaniard founding board member who worked in government at the European Environment Agency [of the European Union],” says Clarissa Morawski, a 20-year- veteran waste policy consultant for the Canadian government and chief executive Reloop Platform.

Determining what a circular economy should look like, and advancing policy around it, is best done by bringing together environmental groups, government, and industry—or so that is the belief of international nonprofit Reloop whose work has centered around that premise since it launched in Brussels in 2015. The platform’s diverse membership has provided technical expertise to help inform European policy, and the platform recently expanded into North America, especially focused on the U.S., with plans to move into Asia in a year or two.

Reloop’s work centers around establishing a global circular economy approach toward packaging, and keys in on five areas: deposit return, reuse, recycled content, collecting, and sorting.

“We focus on each of these areas in discussions with those who write the laws, with brand owners, the waste sector, NGOs, municipal governments, and associations. We have a mix of partners to include [entities and individuals] such as Deutsche Umwelthilfe (DUH), which is a huge environmental organization in Germany; TOMRA, who develops sensor-based sorting systems; and a Spaniard founding board member who worked in government at the European Environment Agency [of the European Union],” says Clarissa Morawski, a 20-year- veteran waste policy consultant for the Canadian government and chief executive of Reloop Platform.

“We are engaging them in these conversations and providing evidence-based data and case studies to help them understand why we should move in a given direction,” she says.

Reloop’s first large project came its way just after a new EU administration took over and abandoned parts of the previous administration’s circular economy package, which was created to advance sustainable economic development.

“There was such an uproar by brands in Europe that the package was reintroduced and upgraded. Brands were upset because they know that we need level playing field legislation to help them transition to a circular economy.

As the government began considering changes to laws around recycling of packaging, we said we have an opportunity to step in and make recommendations for improvements,” Morawski reflects.

She and her group also advised on the new recycling calculation in Europe. They informed the process by turning to recyclers and materials suppliers, organizing them to contribute. It was a politically charged task that took some time.

“It’s challenging to try and get materials suppliers to agree on calculation methods that will affect some materials more than others.  Not everyone wants to report bad news when a particular methodology shows lower recycling rates,” she says.

Wolfgang Ringel, senior vice president Governmental Affairs Tomra Group and a founding member of Reloop, says Tomra’s own goal is for 40% of post-consumer plastic packaging to be collected for recycling and for 30% of this packaging to be recycled in a closed loop.

“So Reloop’s vision and mission are fully aligned with ours,” Ringel says, referring to the platform’s five areas of focus as the “sweet spot” of a circular economy worldwide.

“Why?

  • Reuse is needed to prevent unnecessary production of material and counteract our throwaway society.
  • Mandatory deposit return systems are a low-hanging fruit against marine and terrestrial litter, erasing almost one-third of all beverage container-related litter upon their introduction.
  • Mandatory recycled content targets provide a level playing field, as everyone is forced to buy recycled content to an extent, and by doing this, stimulates circularity.
  • Collection and sorting are the bottleneck in the waste management value chain to creating marketable, clean secondary raw material streams. We need to create frame conditions to foster respective investment.”

Reloop advised on the European Union Single-Use Plastics Directive, which introduces measures and sets aggressive goals to reduce or ban single-use plastic products.

“The Single-Use Plastics Directive is groundbreaking because over half a billion people in several countries will have to follow it. It will have a global impact, and we believe set a precedent,” Morawski says.

Among its work on this legislation, Reloop pushed for a collection target on plastic beverage containers—90 percent by 2029.

“We showed the EU Commission that nine out of 27 countries that have deposit systems are getting a 90 percent return rate. We said if nine countries can do it why can’t the remaining?” she says.

Now the global nonprofit has begun its work in the U.S. under the helm of Elizabeth Balkan, formerly the director of the Natural Resources Defense Council’s food waste program.

A large focus will be on closing the loop on PET beverage containers. That’s a job where the U.S. rates at the bottom of the chart among 40 countries that Reloop assessed in its recent report: What We Waste.

“Meanwhile, PET is one of the most recyclable items. This shortcoming provides an opportunity to see that these bottles go to recycling facilities desperate for materials,” Morawski says.

The plan for this newly forged North American territory is to talk to legislators and stakeholders engaged or interested in advancing Environmental Producer Responsibility, recycled content, and deposit return system bills. One such effort is Reloop’s Reimagined Bottle Bill (RBB) where, working with Eunomia, Reloop will do an analysis and identify suggestions for improvement where bottle bills are not performing well. Morawski says all bottle bills in the U.S. are under-performing and continue to drop in performance year over year, except in Oregon and Michigan.

“Where these bills do not do well it’s often because there are no binding targets for collecting and recycling, and there are low refunds, which means there is no incentive to perform better. Then in some places like California there are few return centers, meaning it’s not convenient for consumers,” she says.

“Our RBB program is intended to draw from experience around the world and create a set of criteria for bottle bills’ operating principles, which is key for regulators that need to create a supportive regulatory framework so producers can operate effective programs that meet a 90 percent target at the lowest cost.”

New England-based Conservation Law Foundation (CLF) is another Reloop partner. Among its work, this nonprofit advocacy organization has a Zero Waste project to improve waste diversion and recycling.

“CLF utilizes Reloop’s technical expertise to lobby decisionmakers at every level of government, and Reloop depends on CLF’s understanding of broader Zero Waste and waste disposal issues in New England. Together we are increasing the interest and understanding of Zero Waste solutions. Reloop expanding into the United States has been a welcome addition to this area of advocacy,” says Kirstie Pecci, director of Zero Waste Project at the Conservation Law Foundation.

Most of the two partners’ collaboration is around deposit return systems, with CLF turning to Reloop for guidance based on real-life implementations.

“It’s one thing for CLF to say that something will work; it’s another thing for Reloop to explain that they’ve seen it work. That’s very powerful when educating legislators and agency officials,” Pecci says.