首页 » » 立场文件和报告

 

为了帮助加速向全球循环经济的过渡, Reloop 基于精确,简洁的循证信息,已产生了大量资源。

您可以在下面找到我们的立场文件和报告的集合。

职位文件

关于制定适用指令 (EU) 2019/904 的实施决定草案的立场文件

2021 年 9 月 - 我们,包括非政府组织、行业和民间社会在内的签名利益相关者,欢迎制定实施决定草案,以确保正确实施 SUPD 第 XNUMX 条。 然而,我们呼吁欧盟委员会和国家当局对决定草案的某些条款提供更多的澄清,如果按照目前的格式,这些条款将严重破坏指令的意图。 本立场文件列出了我们对委员会的建议。

在2021上截图08-04-11.30.04

计算国家回收率

2021年XNUMX月-与集装箱回收研究所,缅因州自然资源理事会和保护法基金会一起, Reloop 已与美国环保署一起写了一封联合信 关于用于计算国家回收率的方法的评论,以及如何改进该方法。 有英文版本。

可重复使用的包装和COVID-19

在2020 12-07-AM 11.24.11屏幕快照

2020年XNUMX月-与“欧洲零废料”一起, Reloop 分析情况 reuse 和根据COVID-19的加注系统。 尽管行业要求一次性使用,但没有证据表明一次性包装对病毒传播的贡献小于可重复使用的东西。 提供英语和瑞典语版本。  

一次性塑料指令:是否处于危险之中?

在2020 12-07-AM 9.32.59屏幕快照

2020 年 XNUMX 月 -与16个行业组织和环保非政府组织一起, Reloop 与欧洲委员会的一次性塑料指令共同签署了联合立场文件。 该文件的目的是强调该指令中存在的各种材料替代漏洞,以及如何根据解释“塑料”的定义而导致成员国不一致和混乱的实施。 该立场文件呼吁会员国以任何实用准则为基础进行豁免。 有英文版本。

根据SUPD第9条的规定,对一次性塑料饮料瓶的单独收集目标进行解释

在2020 12-07-AM 9.36.40屏幕快照

2020年XNUMX月-在这份立场文件中, Reloop 旨在为欧盟委员会围绕实施法案的持续讨论做出贡献,该法案为计算和验证欧盟指令9/2019第904条中关于减少某些塑料产品对食品的影响的单独收集目标提供了方法环境(通常称为一次性塑料指令或SUPD)。 有英文版本。 

SUPD内的物质替代

在2020 12-07-AM 9.49.30屏幕快照

2020年XNUMX月-与“欧洲零废料”一起, Reloop 发布了一份政策简报,以促进Eunomia Research&Consulting研究的发现,我们认为这对于建立一次性塑料指令至关重要,该指令将有助于实现一次性塑料的真正循环经济并减少其对环境的影响。 有英文版本。

SUPD(EU)2019/04的实施:第一阶段

在2020 12-07-AM 9.59.15屏幕快照

2019年XNUMX月-在接下来的几个月中,欧盟委员会将负责制定一系列与SUPD中规定的各项义务相关的实施法案。 在本文中, Reloop 提供有关此咨询的第1部分的评论。 有英文版本。

提交给维多利亚州议会关于废物和回收利用的调查

在2020 12-07-AM 10.09.16屏幕快照

2019年XNUMX月-我们有机会对维多利亚州议会对废物与循环利用的调查发表评论。 我们的意见书审查了维多利亚州当前废物管理方法的一些问题,并提出了减少废物产生并更好地管理所有废物的建议,包括采用设计合理的集装箱存放计划。 有英文版本。

南澳大利亚的一次性塑料和集装箱存放计划-回应

在2020 12-07-AM 10.18.33屏幕快照

2019年XNUMX月-与澳大利亚回收委员会(ACOR)一起, Reloop 太平洋航空​​公司发布了这份立场文件,概述了其在南澳大利亚管理一次性塑料的观点,并为改革该州的集装箱存放计划(CDS)提供了建议。 有英文版本。

关于减少某些塑料产品对环境影响的指令提案的立场文件

在2020 12-07-AM 10.25.15屏幕快照

2018年XNUMX月-SUPD是欧盟展示其在应对当今最大挑战之一-塑料和海洋垃圾问题方面的全球领导地位的历史性机遇。 有了这篇论文, Reloop 旨在通过强调一些我们认为对制定雄心勃勃的新指令至关重要的关键问题,为辩论讨论做出贡献,这些关键问题包括:回收内容规定,到90年饮料瓶回收和回收目标达到2025%,违禁产品清单扩大,“ EPR”下的列表末尾费用以及渔具的EPR。 有英文版本。

关于欧共体关于减少某些塑料产品对环境影响的指令提案的立场文件

在2020 12-07-AM 10.38.54屏幕快照

2018年XNUMX月-该立场文件旨在促进欧洲议会和理事会就该立法提案进行讨论,以制定一项雄心勃勃的新指令,该指令将有助于实现一次性塑料的真正循环经济并减少其对环境的负面影响。 具体来说,我们就以下方面提供建议:回收内容规定,饮料瓶收集和回收的高目标以及促进存款返还计划,以此作为鼓励废物预防和预防的主要措施。 reuse。 有英文版本。

封闭循环经济循环:呼吁欧盟就塑料的再生内容授权采取行动

在2020 12-07-AM 10.42.55屏幕快照

2018年30月-这份立场文件概述了XNUMX多个组织和公司 Reloop关于塑料可回收成分的立场,并为欧盟决策者提供具体建议,以提高塑料产品和包装中可回收材料的利用率。 有英文版本。

关于欧洲委员会塑料战略的立场文件

在2020 12-07-AM 10.48.14屏幕快照

2018年16月-该立场文件旨在为2018年XNUMX月XNUMX日通过的欧洲议会和理事会关于塑料战略的讨论做出贡献,以制定一项雄心勃勃的战略,以帮助实现真正的塑料循环经济并减少其负面影响对环境的影响。 有英文版本。

关于即将召开的欧洲委员会塑料战略的立场文件

在2020 12-07-AM 10.53.33屏幕快照

一月2018 - Reloop 欢迎欧洲委员会宣布将于2018年初发布《塑料战略》。本立场文件旨在为制定雄心勃勃的《塑料战略》提供指导和支持,以帮助实现真正的塑料循环经济并减少其对塑料的负面影响。环境。 有英文版本。

关于循环经济计划下欧盟委员会关于废物立法建议的立场文件

在2020 12-07-AM 10.57.17屏幕快照

二月2016 - Reloop 认为有必要澄清和加强循环经济计划(CEP)的某些要素,以使循环经济成为现实。 本立场文件总结了我们对CEP立法提案以及《欧盟循环经济行动计划》中几个关键要素的看法,其中每一个都是值得关注的优先领域 Reloop。 有英文版本。

绕圈走:循环经济的四大支柱

在2020 12-07-AM 11.03.34屏幕快照

2015年XNUMX月-本联合文件由 Reloop 与其他11个非政府组织一起,强调了欧盟机构必须解决的四个关键领域,以确保循环经济充分运转,以及可能导致的一些经常被忽视的利益。 有英文版本。

循环经济计划的十大重点

在2020 12-07-AM 11.09.05屏幕快照

2015年XNUMX月-该立场文件,由 Reloop,提供了一系列具体建议,作为正在进行的有关欧盟委员会新的循环经济计划发展讨论的投入。 有英文版本。

行业报告

《 2020年全球寄存书》:单向饮料容器的寄存系统概述

GDB-2020-Front-Cover-1024x724

2020年2020月-《 40年全球存款手册》提供了全球XNUMX多种存款退还系统的综合摘要,其中包括欧洲,澳大利亚,加拿大,美国,以色列和大洋洲/加勒比海地区的存款退还系统。 有英文版本。

可重复使用与一次性包装:对环境的影响概述

在2020 12-07-AM 11.20.58屏幕快照

2020年XNUMX月-与 乌得勒支大学 以及 零浪费欧洲 我们发布了一份报告,着重指出,可重复使用的包装(例如瓶,包装箱,广口瓶等)产生的碳排放量远少于一次性包装。 有英文版本。

正确计算数字:有关计算和报告塑料饮料瓶单独收集的讨论文件

在2020 12-07-AM 11.37.56屏幕快照

2020年XNUMX月-与 Eunomia研究与咨询, Reloop 发布了此报告,该报告着重于开发方法的开发,该方法说明了实现第9条中饮料瓶的单独收集目标的方法。 一次性塑料指令。 该研究突出了围绕单独收集目标的法律和计算问题,并为欧盟委员会开发了证明实现目标的方法提供了明确的建议。 有英文版本。

大收益

在2020 12-07-12.22.59 PM屏幕截图

2020年XNUMX月-当政府表示明确的政策决定时, DRS 或将现有系统扩展到包括新饮料, DRS 始终采用为增加回收利用或垃圾清理提供资金的策略。 这些提议是作为不引入的条件提出的 DRS。 这份由CM Consulting撰写的文档提供了这些战略性“收益”如何对企业的结果产生重大影响的示例。 DRS 广告活动。 有英文版本。

什么是塑料? 探索某些材料可以免除SUPD的潜力的研究,特别关注人造纤维素纤维

在2020 12-07-12.32.01 PM屏幕截图

2020年XNUMX月-本报告撰写人 Eunomia研究与咨询 并由...出版 Reloop,研究了“一次性塑料指令”中包含的两种聚合物(莱赛尔纤维和粘胶纤维)的范围,研究了它们的化学组成及其对自然环境的影响。 该报告还提出了一系列建议,以供会员国在实施SUPD之前解决所发现的漏洞。 有英文版本。

存款返还制度对法国市政当局实现欧盟包装回收目标的影响

在2020 12-07-12.44.46 PM屏幕截图

2019年XNUMX月-欧盟委员会的《循环经济包装和塑料战略》推动了PPWD下包装回收目标的增加以及SUPD下对PET瓶的特殊要求。 法国正在探索实现这些目标的方法,其中之一是 DRS 在饮料容器上。 该报告由Eunomia撰写并由 Reloop,计算出法国将能够通过收集的额外吨位 DRS 到2029年,并将此计划的成本与仅门到门的家用包装收集进行比较。 有英文版本。

法国三重存在者中心和地方适应局的委托书收集和再利用指南

在2020 12-07-12.48.29 PM屏幕截图

2019年XNUMX月-本报告为 Reloop 由Amalur撰写,研究了建立包装退还系统对现有分拣设施的影响。 法语版本。

一次性月经产品,婴儿尿布和湿纸巾的环境和经济成本

在2020 12-07-12.55.34 PM屏幕截图

2019年XNUMX月-此新报告由 Reloop,ReZero,《零浪费欧洲》和《从塑料中脱颖而出》详细介绍了欧盟28国范围内一次性月经产品,婴儿尿布和湿巾对环境和经济的影响。 提供英语和法语。

A DRS 为土耳其

在2020 12-07-1.01.34 PM屏幕截图

十月2019 - Reloop,与ISBAK联手委托 Eunomia研究与咨询 进行研究设计 DRS 基于现有同类最佳的土耳其 DRS遍布全球。 除了系统的技术设计外,Enomia还对建议的年度指示性成本和收益进行了建模。 DRS 会带来。 该报告还概述了分配给最终减少的温室气体排放和空气污染物的价值,并估计了猫砂不适应的价值。 有英文版本。

Mémoirede Mme Clarissa Morawski:倡导者行动–回收和价质保护区

在2020 12-07-1.08.37 PM屏幕截图

2019年2019月-XNUMX年XNUMX月,魁北克 运输与环境委员会 发起了一项计划,以解决玻璃的回收和本地回收问题。 本文档概述了我们在这一主要问题上的立场。 法语版本。

一次性塑料指令:背景技术

在2020 12-07-1.15.18 PM屏幕截图

2019年12月-2019年XNUMX月XNUMX日,关于减少某些塑料产品对环境影响的一次性塑料指令在欧盟官方公报上发布,标志着立法程序的最后一步。 Reloop 已准备了此简短的背景资料,以解释该指令的含义。 有英文版本。

携手共进:存款返还系统将如何完善安大略省的蓝盒计划并增强循环经济

在2020 12-07-1.22.02 PM屏幕截图

2019年XNUMX月-的新报告 Reloop,与 Eunomia研究与咨询,概述了如何引入存款退回系统(DRS)将提高回收率,并减少加拿大安大略省的垃圾数量。 该报告还确定了如何与安大略省现行政策协调一致。 蓝色框 程序和 DRS 酒精饮料的使用,将为整个系统带来好处。 该研究检查了拟议计划的成本,并详细说明了将带来的环境,社会和经济效益。 有英文版本。

单向饮料容器的存放系统:全球概览(2018年)

在2020 12-07-1.27.06 PM屏幕截图

2018年XNUMX月-本报告由CM Consulting与 Reloop 该平台,旨在为全球存在的39种单向饮料容器的不同的押金返还系统提供全面的摘要。 提供英语和土耳其语。

重新考虑经济诱因以分开收取

在2020 12-07-1.47.49 PM屏幕截图

2017年XNUMX月-Rezero为零废物欧洲和 Reloop 该平台研究如何通过扩展使用现有经济手段来将循环经济提升到新的水平。 有英文版本。

单向饮料容器的存放系统:全球概览(2016年)

在2020 12-07-1.53.29 PM屏幕截图

2016年XNUMX月-本报告由CM Consulting与 Reloop,目的是为全球现有的38种单向饮料容器的不同的押金返还系统提供全面的摘要。 提供英语,法语和普通话版本。

做出改变:可重复使用包装的商业案例

在2020 12-07-2.00.17 PM屏幕截图

2015年-本文档的作者 Reloop 总结了一些案例研究的主要发现,这些案例说明了从一次性包装转换为可重复使用的运输包装不仅对环境有益,而且对公司的底线也有利。 有英文版本。

Home » Resources » Position Papers & Reports

 

In order to help accelerate the transition to a global circular economy, Reloop has produced a wealth of resources based on precise and concise evidence-based information.

Below you can find a collection of our position papers and reports.

Position Papers

Calculating National Recycling Rates

March 2021 - Together with the Container Recycling Institute, Natural Resources Council of Maine, and the Conservation Law Foundation, Reloop has prepared a joint letter to the U.S. EPA with comments about the methodology it uses to calculate national recycling rates, and how this methodology might be improved. Available in English.

Reusable Packaging and COVID-19

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 11.24.11 AM

June 2020 - Together with Zero Waste Europe, Reloop analyses the situation of reuse and refill systems in light of COVID-19. While industry pushes for single use, there is no evidence that single-use packaging contributes to the spread of the virus any less or more than reusables. Available in English and Swedish.  

The Single Use Plastics Directive: Is it in Jeopardy?

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 9.32.59 AM

May 2020 - Together with 16 industry organizations and environmental NGOs, Reloop co-signed a joint position paper on the European Commission's Single Use Plastics Directive. The intent of the paper was to highlight the various material substitution loopholes that exist within the Directive and how this could lead to inconsistent and chaotic implementation by Member States depending on how the definition of 'plastic' is interpreted. The position paper calls for Member States to base any exemptions on a number of practical guidelines. Available in English.

Interpretation of Separate Collection Targets for Single-Use Plastic Beverage Bottles, as per Article 9 of the SUPD

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 9.36.40 AM

March 2020 - In this position paper, Reloop aims to contribute to the European Commission’s ongoing discussions around the implementing act laying down the methodology for the calculation and verification of the separate collection targets laid down in Article 9 of EU Directive 2019/904 on the reduction of the impact of certain plastic products on the environment (commonly known as the Single-Use Plastics Directive or SUPD). Available in English. 

Material Substitution within the SUPD

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 9.49.30 AM

January 2020 - Together with Zero Waste Europe, Reloop released a policy briefing to contribute to the findings from Eunomia Research & Consulting's study, which we believe are crucial for establishing a Single Use Plastics Directive that will help achieve a real circular economy for single-use plastics and reduce their impact on the environment. Available in English.

Implementation of the SUPD (EU) 2019/04: Phase 1

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 9.59.15 AM

October 2019 - Over the next several months, the European Commission will be tasked with developing a series of implementing acts relating to the various obligations set out in the SUPD. In this paper, Reloop provides comments on part 1 of this consultation. Available in English.

Submission to the Victorian Parliamentary Inquiry into Waste and Recycling

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 10.09.16 AM

May 2019 - We had the opportunity to comment on the Victorian Parliamentary Inquiry into Waste & Recycling. Our submission examines some of the problems with Victoria's current approach to waste management, and identifies recommendations to reduce waste generation and better manage all waste, including the introduction of a well-designed container deposit scheme. Available in English.

South Australia's Single Use Plastics & Container Deposit Scheme - Response

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 10.18.33 AM

February 2019 - Together with the Australian Council of Recycling (ACOR), Reloop Pacific released this position paper outlining its views on managing single-use plastics in South Australia and offering recommendations for reform of the state's container deposit scheme (CDS). Available in English.

Position Paper on the Proposal for a Directive on the Reduction of the Impact of Certain Plastic Products on the Environment

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 10.25.15 AM

November 2018 - The SUPD is a historic opportunity for the EU to show its global leadership in addressing one of the biggest challenges of today - the plastic and marine litter problem. With this paper, Reloop aims to contribute to the trialogue discussions by highlighting some of the key issues that we believe are crucial for establishing an ambitious new directive, namely: recycled-content mandates, 90% collection and recycling target for beverage bottles by 2025, expanded list of banned products, end-of-list costs under EPR, and EPR for fishing gear. Available in English.

Position Paper on the EC's Proposal for a Directive on the Reduction of the Impact of Certain Plastic Products on the Environment

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 10.38.54 AM

July 2018 - This position paper aims to contribute to the European Parliament and Council discussions on the legislative proposal in order to develop an ambitious new directive that will help achieve a real circular economy of single-use plastics and reduce its negative impacts on the environment. Specifically, we offer recommendations on the following: recycled-content mandates, high targets for collection and recycling of beverage bottles, and promotion of deposit return schemes as a key measure to encourage waste prevention and reuse. Available in English.

Closing the Circular Economy Loop: A Call for EU Action on Recycled Content Mandates for Plastics

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 10.42.55 AM

July 2018 - This position paper, endorsed by over 30 organisations and companies, outlines Reloop's position on recycled content for plastics and offers specific recommendations for EU policy-makers to increase the utilization of recycled materials in plastic products and packaging. Available in English.

Position Paper on the European Commission's Strategy on Plastics

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 10.48.14 AM

March 2018 - This position paper aims to contribute to the European Parliament and Council discussions on the Plastics Strategy, which was adopted on 16 January 2018, in order to develop an ambitious Strategy that will help achieve a real circular economy of plastics and reduce its negative impacts on the environment. Available in English.

Position Paper on the Upcoming European Commission's Strategy on Plastics

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 10.53.33 AM

January 2018 - Reloop welcomes the European Commission’s announcement to publish a Strategy on Plastics in early 2018. This position paper aims to provide guidance and support on the development of an ambitious Plastics Strategy in order to help achieve a real circular economy of plastics and reduce its negative impacts on the environment. Available in English.

Position Paper on the European Commission's Legislative Proposals on Waste under the Circular Economy Package

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 10.57.17 AM

February 2016 - Reloop sees a need for certain elements of the Circular Economy Package (CEP) to be clarified and strengthened in order for the circular economy to become a reality. This position paper summarizes our views on several critical elements of the legislative proposals of the CEP as well as the EU Action Plan for the Circular Economy, each of which are priority areas of concern for Reloop. Available in English.

Walking the Circle: The 4 Guiding Pillars for a Circular Economy

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 11.03.34 AM

June 2015 - This joint paper, co-signed by Reloop along with 11 other NGOs, highlights four key areas that the undersigned believe must be addressed by the EU institutions to ensure a fully functioning circular economy, and some of the often overlooked benefits that can result. Available in English.

Top 10 Priorities for Circular Economy Package

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 11.09.05 AM

June 2015 - This position paper, prepared by Reloop, provides a series of specific recommendations as input into the ongoing discussions on the development of the European Commission's new Circular Economy Package. Available in English.

Reports

Global Deposit Book 2020: An Overview of Deposit Systems for One-Way Beverage Containers

GDB-2020-Front-Cover-1024x724

December 2020 - The Global Deposit Book 2020 offers a comprehensive summary of over 40 deposit return systems in place around the world, including those in Europe, Australia, Canada, the United States, Israel, and Oceania/Caribbean. Available in English.

Reusable vs Single-Use Packaging: An Overview of Environmental Impacts

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 11.20.58 AM

December 2020 - Together with the University of Utrecht and Zero Waste Europe we released a report highlighting that reusable packaging – such as bottles, crates, jars, and others – produces far fewer carbon emissions than their single-use counterparts. Available in English.

Getting the Numbers Right: A Discussion Paper on Calculating and Reporting Separate Collection of Plastic Beverage Bottles

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 11.37.56 AM

February 2020 - Together with Eunomia Research and Consulting, Reloop released this report, which focuses on the development of methods for demonstrating achievement of the separate collection targets for beverage bottles in Article 9 of the Single Use Plastics Directive. The research highlights the legal and calculation issues surrounding the separate collection targets, and provides the European Commission with clear recommendations for the development of methods for demonstrating achievement of the targets. Available in English.

The Big Payoff

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 12.22.59 PM

February 2020 - When governments indicate a clear policy decision to move forward with a DRS or to expand an existing system to include new beverages, industries opposed to DRS consistently deploy a strategy of offering money for increased recycling or litter clean up. These offers are put forward as a condition not to introduce DRS. This document, by CM Consulting, provides example of how these strategic “payoffs” can have a big impact on the outcome of DRS campaigns. Available in English.

What is Plastic? A Study Exploring the Potential for Certain Materials to be Exempted from the SUPD, with Particular Focus on Man-Made Cellulosic Fibres

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 12.32.01 PM

January 2020 - This report, authored by Eunomia Research & Consulting and published by Reloop, examines the scope for two polymers, lyocell and viscose, to be included under the Single Use Plastics Directive, investigating both their chemical makeup and their impact on the natural environment. The report also makes a series of recommendations for consideration prior to the implementation of the SUPD by Member States to close the loopholes identified. Available in English.

Impact of Deposit Return System on French Municipalities in Meeting EU Packaging Recycling Targets

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 12.44.46 PM

November 2019 - The European Commission’s Circular Economy Package and Plastic Strategy has driven increases in recycling targets for packaging under the PPWD, as well specific requirements for PET bottles under the SUPD. France is exploring ways of reaching these targets, one of which is a DRS on beverage containers. This report, authored by Eunomia and published by Reloop, calculates the additional tonnage that France will be able to collect through a DRS by 2029 and compares the cost of this program to door-to-door household packaging collection alone. Available in English.

Etude de l'impact d'une mise en place de la consigne pour recyclage sur les centres de tri existants en France et adaptés à la collecte sélective de tous les emballages

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 12.48.29 PM

November 2019 - This report, prepared for Reloop by Amalur, examines the impact on existing sorting facilities of setting up a deposit return system for packaging. Available in French.

The Environmental and Economic Costs of Single-Use Menstrual Products, Baby Nappies, and Wet Wipes

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 12.55.34 PM

November 2019 - This new report by Reloop, ReZero, Zero Waste Europe, and Break Free From Plastic details the environmental and economic impacts of single-use menstrual products, baby nappies, and wet wipes across the EU-28. Available in English and French.

A DRS for Turkey

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 1.01.34 PM

October 2019 - Reloop, in association with ISBAK, commissioned Eunomia Research & Consulting to carry out a study to design a DRS for Turkey based on existing best-in-class DRSs in place around the world. In addition to the technical design of the system, Eunomia modelled the indicative annual costs and benefits that the proposed DRS would bring. The report also outlines the value assigned to the resulting decrease in GHG emissions and air pollutants, as well as estimating the value of litter disamenity. Available in English.

Mémoire de Mme Clarissa Morawski: Mandat d’initiative – Les enjeux de recyclage et de valorisation locale du verre

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 1.08.37 PM

August 2019 - In April 2019, Quebec's Commission des transports et de l'environnement launched an initiative to tackle the issues of recycling and local recovery of glass. This document outlines our position on this major issue. Available in French.

Single Use Plastics Directive: Backgrounder

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 1.15.18 PM

June 2019 - On June 12, 2019, the Single-Use Plastics Directive on the reduction of the impact of certain plastic products on the environment was published in the European Union’s Official Journal, marking the final step of the legislative procedure. Reloop has prepared this short backgrounder to explain what the Directive entails. Available in English.

Better Together: How a Deposit Return System Will Complement Ontario's Blue Box Program and Enhance the Circular Economy

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 1.22.02 PM

June 2019 - A new report by Reloop, produced in partnership with Eunomia Research & Consulting, outlines how the introduction of a deposit return system (DRS) would increase recycling rates and reduce litter in Ontario, Canada. The report also identifies how harmonization with Ontario’s current Blue Box program and DRS on alcohol beverages, would provide benefits to the system as a whole. The study examines the costs of the proposed program, as well as detailing the environmental, social and economic benefits that would be delivered. Available in English.

Deposit Systems for One-Way Beverage Containers: Global Overview (2018)

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 1.27.06 PM

April 2018 - This report was prepared by CM Consulting in association with Reloop Platform, and is intended to provide a comprehensive summary of 39 different deposit-return systems for one-way beverage containers in existence around the world. Available in English and Turkish.

Rethinking Economic Incentives for Separate Collection

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 1.47.49 PM

July 2017 - A study produced by Rezero for Zero Waste Europe and Reloop Platform looking at how the circular economy can be taken to the next level through the extended use of existing economic measures. Available in English.

Deposit Systems for One-Way Beverage Containers: Global Overview (2016)

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 1.53.29 PM

September 2016 - This report was prepared by CM Consulting in association with Reloop, and is intended to provide a comprehensive summary of 38 different deposit-return systems for one-way beverage containers in existence around the world. Available in English, French, and Mandarin.

Making the Switch: The Business Case for Reusable Packaging

Screen Shot 2020-12-07 at 2.00.17 PM

2015 - This document by Reloop summarizes the key findings of several case studies that illustrate how switching from single-use to reusable transport packaging is beneficial not only for the environment, but for companies' bottom lines. Available in English.