ما هو البلاستيك؟ دراسة جديدة تستكشف احتمالية إعفاء بعض المواد من توجيه استخدام البلاستيك مرة واحدة

في 2 يوليو 2019 ، دخلت التوجيهات البلاستيكية أحادية الاستخدام الصادرة عن المفوضية الأوروبية (المشار إليها فيما يلي باسم "SUPD") بشأن الحد من تأثير بعض المنتجات البلاستيكية على البيئة حيز التنفيذ. يعالج SUPD المواد البلاستيكية العشر الأكثر شيوعًا التي تستخدم لمرة واحدة ومعدات الصيد ، والتي تمثل مجتمعة ما يقرب من 10 ٪ من جميع القمامة البحرية الموجودة على الشواطئ الأوروبية (حسب العدد).

يمثل اعتماد SUPD خطوة مهمة إلى الأمام في الحد من المواد البلاستيكية أحادية الاستخدام وفي الانتقال نحو الاقتصاد الدائري - بما في ذلك reuse أنظمة ومواد قابلة لإعادة الاستخدام. ومع ذلك ، للتغلب على أزمة البلاستيك وتحقيق أهداف الاقتصاد الدائري للاتحاد الأوروبي ، فإن التنفيذ الصحيح والطموح لـ SUPD أمر بالغ الأهمية. يبدأ هذا بالحصول على نطاق حق التوجيه لتجنب أي ثغرات.

من أجل تحديد نطاق المواد التي يغطيها التوجيه ، تم تجميع تعريف للبلاستيك ، والذي يستثني حاليًا "البوليمرات الطبيعية التي لم يتم تعديلها كيميائيًا". هذا التقرير من تأليف Eunomia للأبحاث والاستشارات ونشرت من قبل Reloop، يفحص نطاق اثنين من هذه البوليمرات ، الليوسيل والفيسكوز ، ليتم إدراجهما بموجب التوجيه ، والتحقيق في كل من تركيبتهما الكيميائية وتأثيرهما على البيئة الطبيعية. تخبرنا نتائج الدراسة أن هناك ثغرات خطيرة في تعريف "البلاستيك" تتطلب الاهتمام في تنفيذ القوانين والمبادئ التوجيهية. على وجه التحديد ، تُظهر النتائج أن هناك خطرًا حقيقيًا ، يتم استغلاله حاليًا من قبل بعض اللاعبين في سوق المناديل المبللة ، وهو أن التوجيه سوف يتم تقويضه بشكل خطير ما لم تمنح إرشادات المفوضية الدول الأعضاء توجيهًا واضحًا بشأن هذه المسألة

يقدم التقرير أيضًا سلسلة من التوصيات للنظر فيها قبل تنفيذ التوجيه SUP من قبل الدول الأعضاء لسد الثغرات المحددة. ستساعد هذه التوصيات ، في حالة تنفيذها ، على ضمان أن المنتجات المطروحة في السوق يجب أن تُظهر تأثيرًا بيئيًا أقل بكثير من البلاستيك التقليدي أو أن يتم تغطيتها من خلال متطلبات التوجيه (بما في ذلك حظر المنتجات والتزامات EPR).

بيان صحفي

يمكنك قراءة التقرير الموجز هنا.

يمكنك أيضا قراءة Reloopموجز السياسة الخاص بـ "و Zero Waste Europe" حول هذه القضية هنا.

On 2 July 2019, the European Commission’s Single-Use Plastics Directive (hereinafter “SUPD”) on the reduction of the impact of certain plastic products on the environment entered into force. The SUPD tackles the 10 most commonly found single-use plastic items and fishing gear, which together account for approximately 70% of all marine litter found on European beaches (by count).

The adoption of the SUPD represents an important step forward in the reduction of single-use plastics and in the transition towards a circular economy – including reuse systems and reusable materials. Nevertheless, to overcome the plastic crisis and achieve the EU circular economy goals, a proper and ambitious implementation of the SUPD are crucial. This begins by getting the scope of the Directive right to avoid any loopholes.

In order to determine the scope of the materials covered by the Directive, a definition for plastic was compiled, which currently exempts “natural polymers that have not been chemically modified”. This report, authored by Eunomia Research & Consulting and published by Reloop, examines the scope for two of these polymers, lyocell and viscose, to be included under the Directive, investigating both their chemical makeup and their impact on the natural environment. The results of the study tell us that there are serious loopholes in the definition of ‘plastics’ that require attention in the implementing Acts and Guidelines. Specifically, the results show that there is a real risk, currently being exploited by some players in the wet wipe market, that the Directive will be seriously undermined unless the Commission’s guidance gives Member States an unambiguous steer on this issue

The report also makes a series of recommendations for consideration prior to the implementation of the SUP Directive by Member States to close the loopholes identified. These recommendations, if implemented, would help to ensure that products placed on the market would have to demonstrate significantly lower environmental impact than conventional plastics or otherwise be covered by the Directive’s requirements (including product bans and EPR obligations).

Press release

You can read the summary report here.

You can also read Reloop’s and Zero Waste Europe’s policy briefing on the issue here.