2年2019月10日,欧洲委员会关于减少某些塑料产品对环境影响的一次性塑料指令(以下简称“ SUPD”)生效。 SUPD解决了70种最常见的一次性塑料物品和渔具,它们合计占欧洲海滩上所有海洋垃圾的XNUMX%(按计数)。

SUPD的采用代表着减少一次性塑料和迈向循环经济的重要一步,包括 reuse 系统和可重复使用的材料。 尽管如此,为了克服塑料危机并实现欧盟循环经济目标,正确,雄心勃勃地实施SUPD至关重要。 首先要获得指令权利的范围,以避免任何漏洞。

为了确定该指令涵盖的材料范围,汇编了塑料定义,目前不包括“未经化学修饰的天然聚合物”。 该报告的作者 Eunomia研究与咨询 并由...出版 Reloop,研究了将两种聚合物(莱赛尔和粘胶纤维)纳入该指令的范围,研究了它们的化学组成及其对自然环境的影响。 研究结果告诉我们,“塑料”定义中存在严重漏洞,需要在执行《法案和准则》中予以注意。 具体而言,结果表明,存在一定的风险,除非委员会的指导给予成员国在此问题上的明确指导,否则该湿巾市场中的一些参与者目前正在利用该风险,该指令将受到严重破坏。

该报告还提出了一系列建议,供会员国在实施SUP指令之前解决,以弥补发现的漏洞。 这些建议如果得以实施,将有助于确保投放市场的产品与传统塑料相比,对环境的影响要低得多,否则将被该指令的要求所覆盖(包括产品禁令和EPR义务)。

新闻稿

您可以在此处阅读摘要报告.

你也可以阅读 Reloop欧洲的零废物欧洲政策简报.

On 2 July 2019, the European Commission’s Single-Use Plastics Directive (hereinafter “SUPD”) on the reduction of the impact of certain plastic products on the environment entered into force. The SUPD tackles the 10 most commonly found single-use plastic items and fishing gear, which together account for approximately 70% of all marine litter found on European beaches (by count).

The adoption of the SUPD represents an important step forward in the reduction of single-use plastics and in the transition towards a circular economy – including reuse systems and reusable materials. Nevertheless, to overcome the plastic crisis and achieve the EU circular economy goals, a proper and ambitious implementation of the SUPD are crucial. This begins by getting the scope of the Directive right to avoid any loopholes.

In order to determine the scope of the materials covered by the Directive, a definition for plastic was compiled, which currently exempts “natural polymers that have not been chemically modified”. This report, authored by Eunomia Research & Consulting and published by Reloop, examines the scope for two of these polymers, lyocell and viscose, to be included under the Directive, investigating both their chemical makeup and their impact on the natural environment. The results of the study tell us that there are serious loopholes in the definition of ‘plastics’ that require attention in the implementing Acts and Guidelines. Specifically, the results show that there is a real risk, currently being exploited by some players in the wet wipe market, that the Directive will be seriously undermined unless the Commission’s guidance gives Member States an unambiguous steer on this issue

The report also makes a series of recommendations for consideration prior to the implementation of the SUP Directive by Member States to close the loopholes identified. These recommendations, if implemented, would help to ensure that products placed on the market would have to demonstrate significantly lower environmental impact than conventional plastics or otherwise be covered by the Directive’s requirements (including product bans and EPR obligations).

Press release

You can read the summary report here.

You can also read Reloop’s and Zero Waste Europe’s policy briefing on the issue here.