新闻稿

具有里程碑意义的全球报告:喝醉了的容器浪费了世界,但数据显示了解决方案

29 2021月

Reloop [1]今日出版 我们浪费了什么,该报告利用了来自2个国家/地区的数据[93]来确定过去20年来可再填充饮料容器的数量下降,以及可再填充和存款返还系统可以在多大程度上减少玻璃瓶,PET塑料瓶和金属罐的数量浪费,即在城镇,城市和荒野中乱扔垃圾,迷失在河流和海洋中,被填埋或焚化。

在1999年至2019年期间,全国的饮料容器销售量翻了一番 Reloop 有数据。 在同一时期,PET塑料的销售比例增加了一倍多,从17%增至41%。 在10年,可再填充材料使用量最高的2019个国家在过去20年中可再填充材料的市场份额急剧下降,从同期的60%下降到29%。

总体而言,这些数字的最大贡献者是中国大陆,这是受人口规模和可再充填部门的强劲影响所驱动的,但可再充填的市场份额下降幅度也超过了平均水平,从52年的1999%下降至22年的2019% 。

该报告还首次全面了解了押金返还系统对饮料容器浪费的影响。 像可重复装填的产品一样,押金退还系统依靠消费者支付少量押金,当罐头或瓶子退还时,该押金将全额退还。 与可填充物不同,这些系统收集以进行回收而不是收集 reuse,并且通常在国家或州/省级级别上运行,尽管此数据集中的许多国家/地区对于两个系统都使用相同的收集基础结构。

数据显示采用存款会产生积极影响。 2015年,在立陶宛实行存款返还之前,人均浪费了113个饮料容器,每人每三天浪费了一个以上。 2017年是该系统投入运营的第一年,该年的数据显示浪费已急剧下降至仅14个,每个月只有一个。

Reloop 我们还可以估算给定国家/地区可重复使用的市场份额发生变化的影响,并查看国家/地区回收率变化对浪费的影响,尤其是在没有此类数据可公开获得的国家中。

例如,巴西在24.2年的可再填充率达到2019%。如果取而代之的是与邻国哥伦比亚相同的可再填充率,即53.9%,那么巴西一次性饮料容器的销售额将从35.9亿下降至23.2亿,年。

本报告首次确定了我们拥有回收数据的较小部分国家的浪费规模[3],而且变化惊人。 德国在55年可再充电品在市场上占有2017%的市场份额,而大多数其他饮料都由押金返还,该年每人仅浪费了10个容器。 在欧洲的另一端,匈牙利的可再装满市场份额仅为14.7%,并且没有存款返还系统,该年每人浪费了186个集装箱。 美国处于自己的联盟​​中,每人浪费422个集装箱。

Reloop 我们还可以估算采用存款回报率系统的收益率等于此类国家系统所达到的中值率的后果。 PET瓶的中值回报率是91%,罐头的中位数回报率是89%,玻璃瓶的中值回报率是87%,明显高于典型的城市垃圾处理系统。 例如,如果希腊引入这种类型的沉积系统,则PET瓶的年浪费将从1.6亿减少到仅207亿,罐头的浪费将减少233亿,玻璃的浪费将减少122亿。 这意味着人均浪费从184人均减少到29人。

在欧洲和北美可获得的更详细的信息清楚地表明,表现最好的国家既有25%以上的可再充值市场,又有存款返还系统。 与那些笔芯使用率较低且没有存款返还系统的国家相比,这些国家的浪费量平均要少得多。 后者浪费的人均饮料容器几乎是后者的七倍。

减少浪费还可以减少排放,这是今年晚些时候在苏格兰格拉斯哥召开的COP26气候会议之前的一个关键因素。 第二次填充玻璃瓶可将对气候的影响降低40%[4],行业估计铝罐的回收效率比使用纯净材料高92%[5]。

Clarissa Morawski,首席执行官兼联合创始人 Reloop表示:

“针对此问题的两种最佳可用解决方案非常明确。 两者都使用少量的财务激励措施(即存款)来鼓励消费者退还容器,用于充值或用于收集高质量单材料回收的存款退还系统。 两种方法都可以大大减少浪费,因此更少的容器最终会在我们的环境中乱扔垃圾,被填埋或焚化。 它们减少了地方政府的清理成本,促进了循环经济中的工作,并减少了碳排放量。

“从政策的角度来看,对于那些最浪费的地区,首先采取措施支持可再充值市场可能是合情合理的,或者着手开展存款返还系统可能更明智。 当然,押金返还系统将为以后引入可充值系统设置系统条件。 从消费者的角度来看,体验是相同的。 如果您退回一个空瓶子,您将获得退款,并且您知道,无论下一步是重新装瓶还是回收,它都不会浪费,并且对环境的影响显着降低。”

不断变化的市场[6]的竞选总监Nusa Urbancic说:

“这些发现暴露了过去20年中国际对一次性罐头和瓶子的转变,并显示了饮料巨头持续进行游说工作的后果。 他们试图拆除加注系统,同时也阻止了诸如退还押金等行之有效的解决方案。 同时,这些大公司用一次性塑料瓶和罐子充斥了市场。 这些数据显示了我们为这些策略付出的巨大代价,并且我们首次可以估算出毁灭性的瓶子和罐头的数量,从而使垃圾堵塞了地球。

“证据很明显:存款返还系统和强大的可再装市场可以有效减少饮料容器的污染。 这些是广泛使用的措施,对于它们的情况不再必须忽略。 决策者必须站在反对行业游说的立场上,并迅速采取行动以解决日益严重的污染危机。 政府和监管机构越早采取行动保护可再充值市场并更好地引入存款收益,我们就越早开始遏制这种浪费浪潮。”

塑料防碎全球协调员冯·埃尔南德斯(Von Hernandez)说:[7]

“这份报告证实,一次性塑料正挤占全世界可再填充材料的市场,结果,这个星球淹没在塑料废料中。 各国政府决不能让可支配经济和与之相关的塑料污染完全接管我们的社会,它们必须迫使公司在有效存款返还系统的支持下,对过去被证明行之有效的充值系统进行再投资。

“未来不是一次性的,塑料污染也不可避免。 在中国大陆,印度,越南和菲律宾这样的国家中,可再充电品仍然占有很大的市场份额,各国政府必须提供正确的政策信号,不仅要保护可再充电品行业的剩余物,而且要扩大再将其带回到可再填充品领域。主导地位。 产生越来越多的塑料污染的公司应承担责任,同时必须鼓励和大力支持避免塑料浪费的系统。 这是扭转塑料污染危机和避免灾难性气候变化所需的方向。”

德国联合会循环经济项目经理Henriette Schneider [8]说:

“在未来几年中,许多欧盟成员国将需要对一次性罐头和瓶子实施押金归还,以减少海洋垃圾并促进高质量的回收利用。 可再装物料在很大程度上依赖于相同的回收基础架构,并且可以轻松扩展。 两种工具都可以从源头上减少浪费,并在减少温室气体排放中发挥关键作用。 决策者需要通过设定雄心勃勃的目标和提供经济激励措施,保护和扩大可再装电池的市场份额。 奥地利处于领先地位,将投资110亿欧元用于回收和补充基础设施。”

ENDS

附注

  1. Reloop 是一个国际性的非营利组织,致力于将行业,政府和非政府组织整合到一个广泛的网络中,力求在资源和废物政策的各个层面带来积极的变化。

https://www.reloopplatform.org/

  1. 所使用的数据集包括从GlobalData购买的专有销售信息, Reloop 无法直接发布:但是,允许发布将数据与其他数据集结合起来的信息,例如回收率。 现有的销售数据涵盖93个国家/地区,包括所有G20国家和全球80%以上的人口,尽管回收数据仅适用于34个国家/地区的子集,包括美国,加拿大,欧洲大部分地区,以及仅适用于PET的信息一些亚洲国家。 有关GlobalData的更多信息,请参见: https://www.globaldata.com/
  1. 我们的回收数据涵盖了北美,24个欧盟成员国(不包括塞浦路斯,卢森堡和马耳他),印度尼西亚,马来西亚,挪威,菲律宾,南非,瑞士,泰国,英国和越南的部分或全部PET,玻璃和罐头。
  2. 请参阅此处的p38:

https://zerowasteeurope.eu/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/zwe_reloop_report_reusable-vs-single-use-packaging-a-review-of-environmental-impact_en.pdf.pdf_v2.pdf

6。 看到:

https://www.aluminum.org/sustainability/aluminum-recycling

7.成立了不断变化的市场基金会,以通过利用市场力量来加速和扩展解决可持续性挑战的解决方案。 与非政府组织,其他基金会和研究组织合作,我们热衷于探索解决塑料污染危机的有效解决方案。

https://changingmarkets.org/

8.摆脱塑料污染(BFFP)是一个由全球2,000多个组织组成的全球运动,这些组织汇聚一堂,寻求持久解决塑料污染危机的方法。

https://www.breakfreefromplastic.org/

9.Deutsche Umwelthilfe(德国环保行动)成立于1975年。它是德国的一家民间环保和消费者保护组织。

https://www.duh.de/englisch/

MEDIA RELEASE

LANDMARK GLOBAL REPORT: THE WORLD IS AWASH WITH DRINKS CONTAINER WASTAGE BUT THE DATA SHOWS THE SOLUTION

29 April 2021

Reloop [1] today published What We Waste, a report drawing on data [2] from 93 countries to establish the decline in refillable drinks containers over the past 20 years, and the extent to which refillables and deposit return systems can reduce the number of glass bottles, PET plastic bottles and metal cans wasted, i.e. littered in towns, cities and wild spaces, lost into rivers and oceans, landfilled, or incinerated.

Drinks container sales have doubled between 1999 and 2019, across the countries Reloop has data for. Over that same period, the proportion sold in PET plastic has more than doubled, from 17% to 41%. The 10 countries with the highest usage of refillables in 2019 have experienced a sharp decline in refillable market share over the previous 20 years, down from 60% to 29% over that period.

Overall, the largest contributor to these numbers is mainland China, driven by population size and a stronger than average refillable sector, but the drop in refillable market share there was also sharper than the average, declining from 52% in 1999 to 22% in 2019.

The report also gives for the first time a comprehensive understanding of the impact of deposit return systems on drinks container wastage. Like refillables, deposit return systems rely on consumers paying a small deposit which is refunded in full when the can or bottle is returned. Unlike refillables, these systems collect for recycling rather than reuse, and typically operate at a national or state/provincial level, although many countries in this dataset use the same collection infrastructure for both systems.

The data shows the positive effect the adoption of deposits can have. In 2015, before Lithuania introduced deposit return, 113 drinks containers were wasted per capita, more than one every three days per person. 2017 was the first full year of the system being in operation, and that year’s data shows that wastage had fallen sharply to just 14, barely one a month.

Reloop is also able to estimate the effect of changes to refillable market share in a given country, and to see the effect of changing national recycling rates on wastage, especially in countries where no such data is publicly available.

For example, Brazil had a refillable rate of 24.2% in 2019. If instead it had achieved the same refillable rate as neighbouring Colombia, at 53.9%, sales of single-use drinks containers in Brazil would have fallen from 35.9 billion to 23.2 billion that year.

This report establishes for the first time the scale of wastage across a smaller subset of countries where we have recycling data [3], and the variation is striking. Germany, where refillables retained a 55% market share in 2017, and where most other drinks are covered by deposit return, wasted just 10 containers per person that year. At the other end of the spectrum within Europe, Hungary, with just a 14.7% refillable market share and no deposit return system, wasted 186 containers per person that year. The United States is in a league of its own, wasting 422 containers per person.

Reloop can also estimate what the effect would be of adopting a deposit return system with return rates equivalent to the median rates achieved by national systems of this sort. Those median return rates are 91% for PET bottles, 89% for cans, and 87% for glass, significantly higher than the rates achieved by typical municipal waste systems. For example, if Greece introduced this type of deposit system, annual wastage of PET bottles would decrease from 1.6 billion to just 207 million, can wastage would fall by 233 million, and glass wastage would fall by 122 million. That would represent a reduction in wastage per capita from 184 per capita to just 29.

The more detailed information available in Europe and North America makes it clear that the best-performing countries have both a 25%+ refillable market and a deposit return system. Those countries generate far less wastage, on average, than those countries with lower refill usage and no deposit return system. That latter group waste almost seven times as many drinks containers per person.

Reducing wastage also reduces emissions, a key factor ahead of the COP26 climate conference later this year in Glasgow, Scotland. Refilling a glass bottle a second time cuts climate impact by 40% [4], and industry estimates that recycling an aluminium can is 92% more efficient than using virgin materials [5].

Clarissa Morawski, CEO and co-founder of Reloop, said:

“The two best available solutions to this problem are extremely clear. Both use a small financial incentive – a deposit – to encourage consumers to return empties, either for refill or for deposit return systems which collect high-quality single-material recycling. Both approaches reduce wastage substantially, so fewer containers end up littered in our environment, landfilled or incinerated. They reduce clean-up costs for local government, they promote jobs in the circular economy, and they reduce carbon emissions.

“From a policy perspective, for those territories wasting the most currently, it may make sense in one place to first bring in measures to support refillable markets, or it may be more sensible to start work on a deposit return system. Certainly a deposit return system will set the system conditions for the introduction of a refillable system at a later stage. From a consumer perspective, the experience is the same. If you return an empty bottle, you get your money back, and you know that, whether the next step is refill or recycling, it’s not being wasted and its impact on the environment is markedly lower.”

Nusa Urbancic, Campaigns Director for Changing Markets [6], said:

“These findings lay bare the international shift to single-use cans and bottles over the past 20 years, and show the consequences of consistent lobbying efforts by beverage giants. They have sought to dismantle refill systems, whilst also blocking proven solutions like deposit return. At the same time these big companies have flooded the market with single-use plastic bottles and cans. This data shows the stark price we are paying for these tactics, and for the first time we can estimate the devastating volume of bottles and cans choking the planet with trash.

“The evidence is clear: deposit return systems and strong refillable markets are effective at reducing drinks container pollution. These are widely-used measures, and the case for them must no longer be ignored. Policy-makers need to stand their ground against industry lobbying and move quickly to address this deepening pollution crisis. The sooner governments and regulators act to protect refillable markets and introduce deposit return the better, and the sooner we can start to stem this tide of waste.”

Von Hernandez, Global Coordinator of Break Free from Plastic [7], said:

“This report confirms that disposable plastics are crowding out markets for refillables all over the world, and as a consequence the planet is drowning in plastic waste. Governments must not allow the disposable economy and the plastic pollution associated with it to completely take over our societies, and they must compel corporations to re-invest in refill systems that have been proven to work in the past, supported by effective deposit return systems.

“The future is not disposable and plastic pollution is not inevitable. In countries like mainland China, India, Vietnam and the Philippines, where there is still a significant market share for refillables, governments must provide the right policy signals not only to protect what’s left of the refillable sector but to expand and bring it back to a position of dominance. Companies that produce ever-increasing amounts of plastic pollution should be held accountable, while systems that avoid plastic waste must be encouraged and strongly supported. This is the kind of direction required to reverse the plastic pollution crisis and avert catastrophic climate change.”

Henriette Schneider, Project Manager Circular Economy for Deutsche Umwelthilfe [8], said:

“In the coming years, many EU member states will need to implement deposit return for single-use cans and bottles in order to reduce marine litter and promote high-quality recycling. Refillables rely on the same take-back infrastructure to a great extent, and can easily be scaled up. Both tools reduce waste at source and play a key role in the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions. Policy-makers need to protect and expand the market share of refillables, by setting ambitious targets and providing financial incentives. Austria is leading the way and will invest €110 million in take-back and refill infrastructure.”

ENDS

NOTES

  1. Reloop is an international non-profit organisation that brings together industry, government and NGOs into a broad network that seeks to bring about positive change at all levels of resource and waste policy.

https://www.reloopplatform.org/

  1. The datasets used include proprietary sales information purchased from GlobalData, which Reloop is unable to publish directly: however, publication of information which combines that data with other datasets, e.g. recycling rates, is permitted. The sales data available covers 93 countries, including all G20 countries and more than 80% of the world’s population, although recycling data is only available for a subset of 34 countries, including America, Canada, most of Europe, plus PET-only information for some Asian countries. More information about GlobalData is available here: https://www.globaldata.com/
  1. We have recycling data covering some or all of PET, glass and cans for North America, 24 EU member states (excluding Cyprus, Luxembourg and Malta), Indonesia, Malaysia, Norway, Philippines, South Africa Switzerland, Thailand, the UK and Vietnam.
  2. See p38 here:

https://zerowasteeurope.eu/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/zwe_reloop_report_reusable-vs-single-use-packaging-a-review-of-environmental-impact_en.pdf.pdf_v2.pdf

6. See:

https://www.aluminum.org/sustainability/aluminum-recycling

7. The Changing Markets Foundation was formed to accelerate and scale up solutions to sustainability challenges by leveraging the power of markets. Working in partnership with NGOs, other foundations and research organisations we are keen to explore effective solutions to the plastic pollution crisis.

https://changingmarkets.org/

8. Break Free from Plastic (BFFP) is a global movement of more than 2,000 organizations worldwide that have come together to push for lasting solutions to the plastic pollution crisis.

https://www.breakfreefromplastic.org/

9.Deutsche Umwelthilfe (Environmental Action Germany) was founded in 1975. It is a non-governmental environmental and consumer protection organisation in Germany.

https://www.duh.de/englisch/