新闻稿

每年在全国范围内浪费掉140亿集装箱

29 2021月

伊丽莎白·巴尔坎(Elizabeth Balkan) elizabeth.balkan @reloop平台.org

发布时间 Reloop [1]数据[2]显示,140年全美国浪费了超过3亿个空饮料容器-玻璃瓶,PET塑料瓶和金属罐[2019]。

  • 超过74亿个是PET瓶,通常用于水和软饮料的塑料
  • 超过50亿罐
  • 近15亿个玻璃瓶

美国人每年人均购买的饮料数量比该数据集中的其他任何人都多,比第二位的比利时人均高出约13%,但这仅是浪费率显着提高的一小部分。

自《独立宣言》以来,每年的总数相当于每天浪费超过1.5万个集装箱,足以覆盖美国州际公路系统的每一英寸[5]。

426年,该国人均浪费了2019个容器[4],其中227个是PET塑料。 这是匈牙利的两倍多,匈牙利是该数据集第二低的国家,每人浪费了186个集装箱。 另一方面,拥有强大的可再装部门和国家集装箱存放法的德国在10年人均浪费了2017个集装箱,比美国少了97%[6]。

考虑到所使用的销售数据集不包括葡萄酒,烈酒,牛奶,小袋或纸箱,这些数字是保守的。 该计算还使用了EPA的2017年玻璃回收率38.9%,但容器回收研究所估计实际数量低至27%。 考虑到这些变化,估计每人浪费在550至600之间。

7年2021月推出的《摆脱塑料污染法》 [XNUMX]将引入一项全国性的容器保藏法,适用于任何材料的饮料容器。 Reloop 还能够计算出此类立法对上述浪费水平的影响。 已有10个州制定了集装箱存放法,其中俄勒冈州和密歇根州的存放退还系统表现最佳,其退还率可与更现代的欧洲系统媲美。 密歇根州的退货率达到90%,而处理俄勒冈州大部分集装箱的俄勒冈饮料回收合作社在90.8年的退货率达到2019%[8],与欧洲国家存款系统的中位数相似。

使用这些数据, Reloop 如果整个美国都采用了可达到90%的回报率的系统,即与俄勒冈州和密歇根州一样高效的国家系统,则可以估算浪费的总体减少量。 浪费的数字将从每年的22亿下降到每年浪费的140亿个饮料容器。 人均浪费将从原来的426个(每人每天超过一个集装箱)下降到67个(大约一周四分之一)。

减少浪费还可以减少排放,这是今年晚些时候在苏格兰格拉斯哥召开的COP26气候会议之前的一个关键因素。 在碳排放方面,使用WARM模型,采用该全国范围的存款系统将减少约7.9 MtCO2e的排放量,高于2019年乌拉圭的国家排放量。 这也相当于一年下来在美国的道路上带走超过1.7万辆乘用车[9]。

伊丽莎白·巴尔坎(Elizabeth Balkan),导演 Reloop 美洲说:

“罐子和瓶子,无论是塑料还是玻璃,都是宝贵的资源,每当这些材料不被回收利用或 reused这增加了对原始材料的需求。 现在,可以估算出在美国浪费的这些资源的实际规模,并且数量惊人:每年140亿个集装箱,平均每人426个。 考虑到该数据集的已知局限性,即使是惊人的数字也将被明显低估。

“这种浪费的方法意味着数百万吨的不必要的气候排放,对市,县和州政府的大量不必要的清理费用以及将持续数十年的生态影响。 不过,目前有一项减少浪费的有价值措施:在全国范围内存放饮料罐和瓶子,这已经成为正在考虑中的立法提案的一部分。 这种方法已经在十个州使用,并且在欧洲很普遍,它将使浪费的罐头和瓶子减少84%,这是国会现在应该非常重视的一种选择。”

ENDS

附注

  1. Reloop 是一个国际性的非营利组织,致力于将行业,政府和非政府组织整合到一个广泛的网络中,力求在资源和废物政策的各个层面带来积极的变化。

https://www.reloopplatform.org/

 

  1. 所使用的数据集包括从GlobalData购买的专有销售信息, Reloop 无法直接发布:但是,允许发布将数据与其他数据集结合起来的信息,例如回收率。 现有的销售数据涵盖93个国家,包括所有G20国家,尽管回收数据仅适用于34个国家中的一部分,包括美国,加拿大,欧洲大部分地区,以及某些亚洲国家/地区的仅PET信息。 有关GlobalData的更多信息,请参见:

https://www.globaldata.com/

 

  1. 在这种情况下浪费意味着不 reused或回收利用,因此该数字涵盖了在美国城镇,城市和荒野中乱抛垃圾,丢入河流和海洋,被填埋或焚化的容器。
  1. 这是基于以下信息:

来自GlobalData的2019年销售额数据。

NAPCOR的PET回收率(2019)。

https://napcor.com/news/4970-2/

 

铝协会的铝回收率(2019)。

https://www.aluminum.org/sites/default/files/KPI_Report_Dec2020.pdf

 

EPA的玻璃回收率(2018)。

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2021-01/documents/2018_tables_and_figures_dec_2020_fnl_508.pdf

 

  1. 基于75.4万美国州际公路的4条车道,宽3.7米,平均直径为6厘米/集装箱。

 

  1. 匈牙利和德国的数据来自2017年而不是2019年:这是最新数据。

 

  1. 这些建议的最新内容如下:

https://www.politico.com/news/2021/03/25/green-groups-plastic-makers-recycling-push-477975

 

拟议的立法可在此处获得:

https://www.merkley.senate.gov/imo/media/doc/21.03.24%20BFFPP%20Text.pdf

 

  1. 资料来自:

https://www.obrc.com/Content/Reports/OBRC%20Annual%20Report%202019.PDF

 

  1. 使用牛津大学研究人员编辑的OurWorldInData中的信息。

https://ourworldindata.org/co2-emissions

 

第二个比较使用EPA计算器:

https://www.epa.gov/energy/greenhouse-gas-equivalencies-calculator

MEDIA RELEASE

140 BILLION DRINKS CONTAINERS WASTED NATIONALLY EVERY YEAR

29 April 2021

Elizabeth Balkan elizabeth.balkan@reloopplatform.org

Published Reloop [1] data [2] shows that more than 140 billion empty drinks containers – glass bottles, PET plastic bottles and metal cans – were wasted [3] across the United States in 2019.

  • over 74 billion were PET bottles, the plastic commonly used for water and soft drinks
  • over 50 billion were cans
  • almost 15 billion were glass bottles

Americans buy more drinks per capita each year than any other population in this dataset, around 13% higher per capita than second-placed Belgium, but this only explains a small proportion of the markedly higher rate of wastage.

That annual total is the equivalent of more than 1.5 million containers wasted every day since the Declaration of Independence, and more than enough to cover every inch of the US Interstate Highway system [5].

426 containers were wasted per person in the country over 2019 [4], 227 of which were PET plastic. This is more than twice the rate seen in Hungary, the second worst-performing country in this dataset, where 186 containers were wasted per person. At the other end of the scale, Germany, which has a strong refillable sector and a national container deposit law, wasted just 10 containers per person over 2017, more than 97% fewer than America [6].

These numbers are conservative, given the sales dataset used does not include wine, spirits, milk, pouches or cartons. The calculation also uses the EPA’s 2017 glass recycling rate of 38.9%, but the Container Recycling Institute estimates the real number is as low as 27%. Taking account of these changes would bring the estimated wastage per person up to between 550 and 600.

The Break Free From Plastic Pollution Act, [7] introduced in March 2021, would introduce a national container deposit law for drinks containers of any material. Reloop are also able to calculate what effect such legislation would have on the wastage levels set out above. 10 states already have container deposit laws, with Oregon’s and Michigan’s deposit return systems being the best performing, delivering return rates comparable to the more modern European systems. Michigan achieves a 90% return rate, while the Oregon Beverage Recycling Cooperative, which handles the bulk of containers in Oregon, saw a rate of 90.8% in 2019 [8], similar to the median rates in national deposit systems in Europe.

Using that data, Reloop is able to estimate the overall reduction in wastage if the whole of the United States had adopted a system which achieved a 90% return rate, i.e. a national system as efficient as Oregon and Michigan. The wastage figure would fall to just over 22 billion drinks containers wasted annually from 140 billion. Per capita wastage would fall from 426, more than one container per person per day, to 67, about one and a quarter a week.

Reducing wastage also reduces emissions, a key factor ahead of the COP26 climate conference later this year in Glasgow, Scotland. In carbon terms, using the WARM model, adopting that nation-wide deposit system would reduce emissions by around 7.9 MtCO2e, greater than the 2019 national emissions of Uruguay. It would also be equivalent to taking more than 1.7 million passenger vehicles off America’s roads for a year [9].

Elizabeth Balkan, Director of Reloop Americas, said:

“Cans and bottles, whether plastic or glass, are valuable resources, and every time those materials are not recycled or reused it increases the demand for virgin materials. Now the real scale of these resources wasted across the United States can be estimated, and the numbers are gargantuan: 140 billion containers a year, for an average of 426 per person. Even that startling number will be a clear underestimate, given the known limitations of this dataset.

“This wasteful approach means millions of tonnes of unnecessary climate emissions, substantial unnecessary cleanup costs for city, county and state governments, and ecological effects that will last decades. One worthwhile measure to reduce waste is at hand, though: a nationwide deposit on drinks cans and bottles, which forms part of legislative proposals already under consideration. This approach, used already in ten states and common in Europe, would reduce wasted cans and bottles here by 84%, and it is an option Congress should now be taking very seriously.”

ENDS

NOTES

  1. Reloop is an international non-profit organisation that brings together industry, government and NGOs into a broad network that seeks to bring about positive change at all levels of resource and waste policy.

https://www.reloopplatform.org/

 

  1. The datasets used include proprietory sales information purchased from GlobalData, which Reloop is unable to publish directly: however, publication of information which combines that data with other datasets, e.g. recycling rates, is permitted. The sales data available covers 93 countries, including all G20 countries, although recycling data is only available for a subset of 34 countries, including America, Canada, most of Europe, plus PET-only information for some Asian countries. More information about GlobalData is available here:

https://www.globaldata.com/

 

  1. Wasted in this context means not reused or recycled, so this figure covers containers littered in American towns, cities and wild spaces, lost into rivers and oceans, landfilled, or incinerated.
  1. This is based on the following information:

Sales 2019 figure from GlobalData.

PET recycling rate (2019) from NAPCOR.

https://napcor.com/news/4970-2/

 

Aluminum recycling rate (2019) from the Aluminum Association.

https://www.aluminum.org/sites/default/files/KPI_Report_Dec2020.pdf

 

Glass recycling rate (2018) from the EPA.

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2021-01/documents/2018_tables_and_figures_dec_2020_fnl_508.pdf

 

  1. Based on 75.4 Thousand Kilometers of US interstate at 4 lanes of 3.7 meters wide and an average diameter of 6cm/container.

 

  1. The Hungary and Germany data is from 2017 rather than 2019: this is the most recent information held.

 

  1. Recent coverage of these proposals are here:

https://www.politico.com/news/2021/03/25/green-groups-plastic-makers-recycling-push-477975

 

The proposed legislation is available here:

https://www.merkley.senate.gov/imo/media/doc/21.03.24%20BFFPP%20Text.pdf

 

  1. Data from:

https://www.obrc.com/Content/Reports/OBRC%20Annual%20Report%202019.PDF

 

  1. Using information from OurWorldInData, edited by researchers at Oxford University.

https://ourworldindata.org/co2-emissions

 

The second comparison uses the EPA calculator:

https://www.epa.gov/energy/greenhouse-gas-equivalencies-calculator