بيان وسائل الإعلام الأمريكية: 140 مليار حاوية مشروب تُهدر على المستوى الوطني كل عام

بيان صحفي

140 مليار حاوية مشروبات تهدر على الصعيد الوطني كل عام

29 أبريل 2021

إليزابيث البلقان إليزابيث البلقان @reloopplatform.org

تم النشر Reloop [1] تُظهر البيانات [2] أنه تم إهدار أكثر من 140 مليار حاوية مشروبات فارغة - الزجاجات والزجاجات البلاستيكية والعلب المعدنية - [3] في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة في عام 2019.

  • أكثر من 74 مليار عبارة عن زجاجات بلاستيك بولي إيثيلين تيريفثالات ، وهي البلاستيك الذي يشيع استخدامه للمياه والمشروبات الغازية
  • أكثر من 50 مليار علبة
  • ما يقرب من 15 مليار زجاجة زجاجية

يشتري الأمريكيون عددًا أكبر من المشروبات للفرد سنويًا أكثر من أي مجموعة سكانية أخرى في مجموعة البيانات هذه ، حوالي 13٪ أعلى للفرد من بلجيكا التي تحتل المرتبة الثانية ، لكن هذا يفسر فقط نسبة صغيرة من معدل الهدر الأعلى بشكل ملحوظ.

هذا الإجمالي السنوي يعادل أكثر من 1.5 مليون حاوية تهدر كل يوم منذ إعلان الاستقلال ، وأكثر من كافية لتغطية كل شبر من نظام الطرق السريعة بين الولايات الأمريكية [5].

تم إهدار 426 حاوية لكل شخص في الدولة خلال عام 2019 [4] ، منها 227 حاوية بلاستيك بولي ايثيلين تيريفثالات. هذا هو أكثر من ضعف المعدل الذي شوهد في المجر ، ثاني أسوأ بلد أداء في مجموعة البيانات هذه ، حيث تم إهدار 186 حاوية لكل شخص. في الطرف الآخر من المقياس ، أهدرت ألمانيا ، التي لديها قطاع قوي لإعادة التعبئة وقانون وطني لإيداع الحاويات ، 10 حاويات فقط لكل شخص خلال عام 2017 ، أي أقل بنسبة 97٪ من أمريكا [6].

هذه الأرقام متحفظة ، نظرًا لأن مجموعة بيانات المبيعات المستخدمة لا تشمل النبيذ أو المشروبات الروحية أو الحليب أو الأكياس أو علب الكرتون. يستخدم الحساب أيضًا معدل إعادة تدوير الزجاج لعام 2017 الخاص بوكالة حماية البيئة (EPA) البالغ 38.9٪ ، لكن معهد إعادة تدوير الحاويات يقدر أن الرقم الحقيقي منخفض يصل إلى 27٪. ومع أخذ هذه التغييرات في الاعتبار ، فإن الهدر التقديري للفرد يصل إلى ما بين 550 و 600.

قانون التحرر من التلوث البلاستيكي ، [7] الذي تم تقديمه في مارس 2021 ، سيقدم قانونًا وطنيًا لإيداع الحاويات لحاويات المشروبات من أي مادة. Reloop قادرون أيضًا على حساب تأثير مثل هذا التشريع على مستويات الهدر الموضحة أعلاه. يوجد لدى 10 ولايات بالفعل قوانين لإيداع الحاويات ، مع كون أنظمة إرجاع الودائع في أوريغون وميتشيغان هي الأفضل أداءً ، مما يوفر معدلات عوائد مماثلة للأنظمة الأوروبية الأكثر حداثة. تحقق ميشيغان معدل عائد بنسبة 90٪ ، بينما شهدت تعاونية أوريغون لإعادة تدوير المشروبات ، التي تتعامل مع الجزء الأكبر من الحاويات في ولاية أوريغون ، معدل 90.8٪ في عام 2019 [8] ، على غرار المعدلات المتوسطة في أنظمة الإيداع الوطنية في أوروبا.

باستخدام تلك البيانات ، Reloop قادر على تقدير الانخفاض الإجمالي في الفاقد إذا كانت الولايات المتحدة بأكملها قد اعتمدت نظامًا حقق معدل عائد بنسبة 90٪ ، أي نظام وطني فعال مثل أوريغون وميتشيغان. سينخفض ​​رقم الفاقد إلى ما يزيد قليلاً عن 22 مليار حاوية مشروبات تضيع سنويًا من 140 مليارًا. سينخفض ​​نصيب الفرد من الفاقد من 426 ، أي أكثر من حاوية واحدة للفرد في اليوم ، إلى 67 ، أي حوالي واحد وربع في الأسبوع.

يؤدي تقليل الفاقد أيضًا إلى تقليل الانبعاثات ، وهو عامل رئيسي قبل مؤتمر المناخ COP26 في وقت لاحق من هذا العام في غلاسكو ، اسكتلندا. فيما يتعلق بالكربون ، باستخدام نموذج WARM ، فإن اعتماد نظام الترسبات على مستوى الدولة من شأنه أن يقلل الانبعاثات بنحو 7.9 مليون طن من مكافئ ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، وهو أكبر من الانبعاثات الوطنية لعام 2 في أوروغواي. كما أنه يعادل أخذ أكثر من 2019 مليون سيارة ركاب من الطرق الأمريكية لمدة عام [1.7].

إليزابيث بالكان ، مديرة Reloop الأمريكتان ، قال:

العلب والزجاجات ، سواء كانت بلاستيكية أو زجاجية ، هي موارد قيمة ، وفي كل مرة لا يتم إعادة تدوير هذه المواد أو reuseد يزيد الطلب على المواد البكر. الآن يمكن تقدير الحجم الحقيقي لهذه الموارد المهدرة في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة ، والأرقام هائلة: 140 مليار حاوية سنويًا ، بمتوسط ​​426 لكل شخص. حتى هذا الرقم المذهل سيكون أقل تقديرًا بشكل واضح ، نظرًا للقيود المعروفة لمجموعة البيانات هذه.

"هذا النهج المهدر يعني ملايين الأطنان من الانبعاثات المناخية غير الضرورية ، وتكاليف التنظيف الكبيرة غير الضرورية للمدن والمقاطعات وحكومات الولايات ، والآثار البيئية التي ستستمر لعقود. هناك إجراء جدير بالاهتمام لتقليل النفايات ، على الرغم من ذلك: إيداع على الصعيد الوطني على علب المشروبات والزجاجات ، والذي يشكل جزءًا من المقترحات التشريعية قيد الدراسة بالفعل. هذا النهج ، المستخدم بالفعل في عشر ولايات وشائع في أوروبا ، من شأنه أن يقلل العلب والزجاجات المهدورة هنا بنسبة 84٪ ، وهو خيار يجب أن يأخذه الكونجرس الآن على محمل الجد ".

انتهى

الملاحظات

  1. Reloop هي منظمة دولية غير ربحية تجمع بين الصناعة والحكومة والمنظمات غير الحكومية في شبكة واسعة تسعى إلى إحداث تغيير إيجابي على جميع مستويات سياسة الموارد والنفايات.

https://www.reloopplatform.org/

 

  1. تتضمن مجموعات البيانات المستخدمة معلومات مبيعات الملكية المشتراة من GlobalData ، والتي Reloop غير قادر على النشر مباشرة: ومع ذلك ، يُسمح بنشر المعلومات التي تجمع تلك البيانات مع مجموعات البيانات الأخرى ، مثل معدلات إعادة التدوير. تغطي بيانات المبيعات المتاحة 93 دولة ، بما في ذلك جميع دول مجموعة العشرين ، على الرغم من أن بيانات إعادة التدوير متاحة فقط لمجموعة فرعية من 20 دولة ، بما في ذلك أمريكا وكندا ومعظم أوروبا ، بالإضافة إلى معلومات PET فقط لبعض الدول الآسيوية. يتوفر المزيد من المعلومات حول GlobalData هنا:

https://www.globaldata.com/

 

  1. ضاع في هذا السياق يعني لا reused أو المعاد تدويرها ، لذا فإن هذا الرقم يغطي الحاويات المتناثرة في البلدات والمدن والمساحات البرية الأمريكية ، المفقودة في الأنهار والمحيطات ، أو دفن النفايات ، أو حرقها.
  1. هذا يعتمد على المعلومات التالية:

رقم مبيعات 2019 من GlobalData.

معدل إعادة التدوير PET (2019) من نابكور.

https://napcor.com/news/4970-2/

 

معدل إعادة تدوير الألمنيوم (2019) من جمعية الألمنيوم.

https://www.aluminum.org/sites/default/files/KPI_Report_Dec2020.pdf

 

معدل إعادة تدوير الزجاج (2018) من وكالة حماية البيئة.

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2021-01/documents/2018_tables_and_figures_dec_2020_fnl_508.pdf

 

  1. استنادًا إلى 75.4 ألف كيلومتر من الطرق السريعة للولايات المتحدة في 4 ممرات بعرض 3.7 متر ومتوسط ​​قطر 6 سم / حاوية.

 

  1. بيانات المجر وألمانيا من 2017 وليس 2019: هذه هي أحدث المعلومات الموجودة.

 

  1. التغطية الأخيرة لهذه المقترحات هنا:

https://www.politico.com/news/2021/03/25/green-groups-plastic-makers-recycling-push-477975

 

التشريع المقترح متاح هنا:

https://www.merkley.senate.gov/imo/media/doc/21.03.24%20BFFPP%20Text.pdf

 

  1. معلومات من:

https://www.obrc.com/Content/Reports/OBRC%20Annual%20Report%202019.PDF

 

  1. باستخدام معلومات من OurWorldInData ، تم تحريرها بواسطة باحثين في جامعة أكسفورد.

https://ourworldindata.org/co2-emissions

 

تستخدم المقارنة الثانية حاسبة EPA:

https://www.epa.gov/energy/greenhouse-gas-equivalencies-calculator

MEDIA RELEASE

140 BILLION DRINKS CONTAINERS WASTED NATIONALLY EVERY YEAR

29 April 2021

Elizabeth Balkan elizabeth.balkan@reloopplatform.org

Published Reloop [1] data [2] shows that more than 140 billion empty drinks containers – glass bottles, PET plastic bottles and metal cans – were wasted [3] across the United States in 2019.

  • over 74 billion were PET bottles, the plastic commonly used for water and soft drinks
  • over 50 billion were cans
  • almost 15 billion were glass bottles

Americans buy more drinks per capita each year than any other population in this dataset, around 13% higher per capita than second-placed Belgium, but this only explains a small proportion of the markedly higher rate of wastage.

That annual total is the equivalent of more than 1.5 million containers wasted every day since the Declaration of Independence, and more than enough to cover every inch of the US Interstate Highway system [5].

426 containers were wasted per person in the country over 2019 [4], 227 of which were PET plastic. This is more than twice the rate seen in Hungary, the second worst-performing country in this dataset, where 186 containers were wasted per person. At the other end of the scale, Germany, which has a strong refillable sector and a national container deposit law, wasted just 10 containers per person over 2017, more than 97% fewer than America [6].

These numbers are conservative, given the sales dataset used does not include wine, spirits, milk, pouches or cartons. The calculation also uses the EPA’s 2017 glass recycling rate of 38.9%, but the Container Recycling Institute estimates the real number is as low as 27%. Taking account of these changes would bring the estimated wastage per person up to between 550 and 600.

The Break Free From Plastic Pollution Act, [7] introduced in March 2021, would introduce a national container deposit law for drinks containers of any material. Reloop are also able to calculate what effect such legislation would have on the wastage levels set out above. 10 states already have container deposit laws, with Oregon’s and Michigan’s deposit return systems being the best performing, delivering return rates comparable to the more modern European systems. Michigan achieves a 90% return rate, while the Oregon Beverage Recycling Cooperative, which handles the bulk of containers in Oregon, saw a rate of 90.8% in 2019 [8], similar to the median rates in national deposit systems in Europe.

Using that data, Reloop is able to estimate the overall reduction in wastage if the whole of the United States had adopted a system which achieved a 90% return rate, i.e. a national system as efficient as Oregon and Michigan. The wastage figure would fall to just over 22 billion drinks containers wasted annually from 140 billion. Per capita wastage would fall from 426, more than one container per person per day, to 67, about one and a quarter a week.

Reducing wastage also reduces emissions, a key factor ahead of the COP26 climate conference later this year in Glasgow, Scotland. In carbon terms, using the WARM model, adopting that nation-wide deposit system would reduce emissions by around 7.9 MtCO2e, greater than the 2019 national emissions of Uruguay. It would also be equivalent to taking more than 1.7 million passenger vehicles off America’s roads for a year [9].

Elizabeth Balkan, Director of Reloop Americas, said:

“Cans and bottles, whether plastic or glass, are valuable resources, and every time those materials are not recycled or reused it increases the demand for virgin materials. Now the real scale of these resources wasted across the United States can be estimated, and the numbers are gargantuan: 140 billion containers a year, for an average of 426 per person. Even that startling number will be a clear underestimate, given the known limitations of this dataset.

“This wasteful approach means millions of tonnes of unnecessary climate emissions, substantial unnecessary cleanup costs for city, county and state governments, and ecological effects that will last decades. One worthwhile measure to reduce waste is at hand, though: a nationwide deposit on drinks cans and bottles, which forms part of legislative proposals already under consideration. This approach, used already in ten states and common in Europe, would reduce wasted cans and bottles here by 84%, and it is an option Congress should now be taking very seriously.”

ENDS

NOTES

  1. Reloop is an international non-profit organisation that brings together industry, government and NGOs into a broad network that seeks to bring about positive change at all levels of resource and waste policy.

https://www.reloopplatform.org/

 

  1. The datasets used include proprietory sales information purchased from GlobalData, which Reloop is unable to publish directly: however, publication of information which combines that data with other datasets, e.g. recycling rates, is permitted. The sales data available covers 93 countries, including all G20 countries, although recycling data is only available for a subset of 34 countries, including America, Canada, most of Europe, plus PET-only information for some Asian countries. More information about GlobalData is available here:

https://www.globaldata.com/

 

  1. Wasted in this context means not reused or recycled, so this figure covers containers littered in American towns, cities and wild spaces, lost into rivers and oceans, landfilled, or incinerated.
  1. This is based on the following information:

Sales 2019 figure from GlobalData.

PET recycling rate (2019) from NAPCOR.

https://napcor.com/news/4970-2/

 

Aluminum recycling rate (2019) from the Aluminum Association.

https://www.aluminum.org/sites/default/files/KPI_Report_Dec2020.pdf

 

Glass recycling rate (2018) from the EPA.

https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2021-01/documents/2018_tables_and_figures_dec_2020_fnl_508.pdf

 

  1. Based on 75.4 Thousand Kilometers of US interstate at 4 lanes of 3.7 meters wide and an average diameter of 6cm/container.

 

  1. The Hungary and Germany data is from 2017 rather than 2019: this is the most recent information held.

 

  1. Recent coverage of these proposals are here:

https://www.politico.com/news/2021/03/25/green-groups-plastic-makers-recycling-push-477975

 

The proposed legislation is available here:

https://www.merkley.senate.gov/imo/media/doc/21.03.24%20BFFPP%20Text.pdf

 

  1. Data from:

https://www.obrc.com/Content/Reports/OBRC%20Annual%20Report%202019.PDF

 

  1. Using information from OurWorldInData, edited by researchers at Oxford University.

https://ourworldindata.org/co2-emissions

 

The second comparison uses the EPA calculator:

https://www.epa.gov/energy/greenhouse-gas-equivalencies-calculator